An easy life

I see people around here all the time, some live with me, others I chat with on and off, and others yet I just see. These people don’t seem happy, I’ve talked to some of them too. They’re stressed, some think they’re lives suck, others think they have a really bad job. The common thread between all of them is that they don’t seem to be enjoying life. Do we, people I mean, look for things to be miserable about??? It seems that being happy is hard work. I’ve read articles that advise us to name 3 good things that happened to you each night before you go to bed and that will make you feel happy. To always try and see the positive in everything that happens. And yet, North America has some of the most depressed people around. I just don’t get it.

I didn’t grow up here. I grew up in a Communist country where my dad had to get up at 4am and walk to the store with his rations ticket and try to buy stuff like milk and sugar. He’d get to the front of the line some 4 or 5 hours later only to find out that there wan’t any milk or sugar left. Yet we seemed to be happy.

So I guess I’m trying to say… be happy. Look at the simple things and try to enjoy them. Things like:

  • We have a roof over our heads
  • There’s food on the table most nights, and if we don’t feel like cooking, we just go out
  • We can go and buy almost anything at any given hour of the day or night
  • Most of us have 100’s of channels to pick from
  • The Internet is endless
  • Are friend are there for us and we’re there for them

For me the glass has always been half full, even when the shit is hitting the fan. So keep smiling 🙂

Leave a Reply

