The divorce shower

A young couple decides to get married, everyone is happy and excited to begin this new jurney, to stop being two completely independant souls and begin to function as a family unit. Friends and family rejoice and the Bridal Shower gets planned. Now, I can see the reasoning behind having a bridal shower, it’s a way for friends and family to help the young couple get a good start for their life together.

I got to thinking about that and I think we’re having the shower at the wrong time in this couples life. What we need are Divorce Showers! I mean, when you get together, you’re not really missing anything, don’t get me wrong there are plenty of luxuries that would make both of your lives imesurably better. Think of how much better eveyone’s life would be if we ALL had a juice make, a waffle maker, a new set of dish towels with pretty pink flowers on them that will only match the decore in your grandmother’s kitchen. Those are life enhancing items people. But you didn’t have them before, so you’re probably not missing them.

A few years go by and about 50% of those couples start the process of getting divorced. Assuming all goes to plan and no one is really vengeful, you’ll only lose about half of your stuff. Now, you’re thinking… I miss my juicer or waffle maker (I hope that’s not true). To top it all off, you’ve also spent money you don’t have on lawyers, moving, shrinks, stiff drinks, smokes, etc. So the last thing you can afford to do is go out and buy furniture, appliances, towels, etc. to replace the ones you lost.

Enter the Divorce Shower! And wham, all of your friends and family help you get back on your feet, best of all, there’s usually cake at these thing 🙂

I think it’s a good plan, I’m going to contact Hallmark and see what we can do about this.

Who’s with me?

5 Responses to The divorce shower

  1. nesser says:

    that does make a lot of sense. and a few hollywood couples have done something like this…namely travis barker and his wife shanna moakler. when they were divorcing, her friends threw her a divorce shower.
    they actually spent a few months away from each other, wrote nasty messages on their myspace pages about each other…for the fans to read…
    then reconciled and are doing fine since 🙂

  2. alejandram1738 says:

    ha ha .. I AM SOOOO WITH YOU ON THIS!

  3. Andria says:

    FABULOUS IDEA!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Dar says:

    It’s a great idea. not only do you gain back some of what you lost in the divorce. you BFF’s can maybe pool their resourses and get you special presents to get rid of that baggage you gained while you were married… like: Liposuctin / tummy tuck / breast lift and botox.. afterall.. you’ll be back in the dating scene… might as well as look hotter than your ex when you caught him wearing your red satin pumps and naughty-nurse outfit.

    take this with a grain of salt…. I’m writing comedy….
    But I do support the divorce shower.. 21 years married – I walked out .. and the most valuable thing I got back… was my life.. it was worth leaving the china, towels and other materialistic things.

  5. shan says:

    great idea that makes perfect sense. i got served today out of the blue and am looking for things to pick me up. now all i need is to find someone to throw me my own divorce shower.

Leave a Reply

