Startup Weekend – NYC and a bit more…

Wanted to send a big shout out to Startup Weekend – New York City! I’ve been following the weekend from afar and it looks like they had a great time and made very good progress with their selected idea, favoreats.com. I wish you guys all the best and can’t wait to see the product in beta.

On a not so happy note… I see that there’s still some fallout from the comments made by Andrew Hyde about the Toronto Startup Weekend and the comments that followed. I was contemplating writing a long post about this and my personal views, but I decided that it might just add fuel to the fire. Instead, I’ll say this. I get the impression that everyone wants to make these weekends successful, whatever name they end up running under. We all want o have a good time, learn, experience and grow. Oh and with any luck built a great product and grow a company. So… why don’t we just put the past behind us and learn from our mistakes and from our successes? If you like Andrew’s approach and want to join or run your own weekend, drop him a line on the Startup Weekend blog. If you don’t like the way he’s structured stuff, run your own like the Birmingham guys are.

I find both regrets and hatred take up too much energy. We’re all an energetic bunch, let’s channel that energy into something productive 🙂

4 Responses to Startup Weekend – NYC and a bit more…

  1. Melle says:

    How is favoreats.com any different from Yelp or Chowhound or any other service already established?

  2. confusement says:

    That’s a good point. I don’t really know. I’d love to get a comment or two from someone that was there. Perhaps they have a value proposition that we’re missing?….

  3. curtispalmer says:

    thanks for the shoutout about Birmingham. we have been meeting weekly as a team since the last Friday of July working through the issues. I think what will set us apart is our philosphy that we want to build a company, not just a cool product (and I am a product guy at heart). we never intended to ‘go our own way’ without Andrew, but we entered the fray about the time his frenzy began and haven’t had success getting a slice of his brain to work out an affiliation. now we’re about 30 days out and plenty busy ourselves, given the increased scope of our approach. we just launched a new blog at birminghamstartup.wordpress.com where I’m posting our thoughts and reasons behind certain decisions we’ve made. hopefully the discourse will benefit us all in the end. good things are definately happening courtesy of Andrew’s original efforts!

  4. confusement says:

    @Curtis
    I’m looking forward to following your weekend. It’ll be a good learning experience for those of us watching from afar as I’m sure it will for you. Best of luck to you guys, your approach might be different then the original weekend, but I see real promise in it. It might be a very good model to borrow from. We’ll be doing a Waterloo weekend early next year so I’ll be keeping a close eye on all the events that will come before us.

Leave a Reply

