CrossFit and biking

I’ve been biking to work about 3 days a week for a good couple of months now. It started off as a way to help get back into shape and also trying to further cut my carbon foot print. What I didn’t expect is that it’s turned into the perfect way to transition from home life to work and then back to home life again. I do an 8.5 Km commute to work and it took me 30 minutes each way when I start. It’s only taking me 20 minutes now and it’s by far the best way to clear my head each day. I actually miss the ride on the days when I have to take my car to work.

So… feeling like I’m in better shape and having decided that the gym really isn’t for me (routine bores me, and that’s usually what I find at the gym), I decide, on my brother’s advice, to join CrossFit Kitchener. You can read all about it on the site, but the main idea is to have an intense workout each day and have that workout be different each day so that there is no routine. The workouts have been kicking my ass… I seriously didn’t think I could physically sweat as much as I did during my workout, but I can’t wait to go back for more 🙂

The first visit is always free, so come on out and give it a try if you’re tired of the old gym routine (and if you’re not from Kitchener, just Google CrossFit for your town).

3 Responses to CrossFit and biking

  1. baudbwoy says:

    I go to DCC down at Yonge and Bloor. Have you heard about the crossfit games, I’m considering that for next year. If your in Toronto I would suggest you come out to the Nike lounge at 110Bloor west, I have a strength and condition clinic on Saturdays at 10am.

    • Thanks for the comment, I’m nowhere near ready for the games… still working on being able to do more then 2 kipping pull ups in a row :-). I’ve only been at it for a week now, but I’m hoping that within a year I’ll be in much better shape.

      Next time I’m in TO on a Sat morning, I’ll try and drop by your clinic. Thanks for the invite!

  2. Six Pack says:

    Hi!I think this blog is good!I found it on Google,I will surely come back! 😀

Leave a Reply

