I gained 4lb

Stepped on the scale for the first time in over a week today… I gained 4lb! Not sure why, been eating really well and working out like crazy, I actually went down one belt notch! Am I gaining muscle??? 4lb seems a little excessive, although I’ve never worked out this hard in my life.

I think I’ll just put the scale aside, continue to work out and eat well and see if I notice any differences in the mirror and how my clothes fit.

I have to admit, with all of the intense working out, I’ve been feeling great, almost like being on a permenant high 🙂

3 Responses to I gained 4lb

  1. Anamaria Grabowski says:

    Often times when we try new activities or up the intensity of our fitness routine our muscles and tissues swell…leading to a temporary elevated weight.

    Also, I hear people talk about eating clean and watching their portions. That really is great but unless you are measuring your food (scale and cups) you really don’t know how many calories you are consuming. When I feel it slipping away I pull the tools out and measure and sure enough things fall back into place.

    Regards-
    Anamaria Grabowski
    http://nascentfitness.wordpress.com/

  2. I had the same think happen – gained about 8 pounds my first week. As I understand it, when you start intensive exercise (like Crossfit) your muscles swell, and retain more water. And I am assuming, if you are anything like me, you go through 1.5L of water throughout the hard workouts. A lot of that water is absorbed by the muscle, and you hold on to it a lot longer.

  3. I hear ya! I dropped those 4Lb within a week, roughly around the same time every muscle in my body stopped feeling like it had been put through a meat grinder 🙂

Leave a Reply

